
Charles Schwab
Disclosed May 3, 2016·10y10 years ago·22,442 affected·Confirmed
What is known
| People affected | 22,442 (as reported by the organization) |
|---|
| Disclosed | May 3, 2016 |
|---|
| Discovered | Mar 17, 2016 |
|---|
| Happened | Mar 25, 2016 |
|---|
| Attack | Hacking |
|---|
| Data exposed | Names, Passwords |
|---|
| Sector | Tech · US |
|---|
| Status | Confirmed |
|---|
Other breaches at Charles Schwab
| Breach | Disclosed | Attack | Sector | Status | Affected |
|---|
| Disclosed Jun 9, 2023Jun 9, 20233y3 years ago | Jun 9, 20233y3 years ago | Not stated | Tech | Confirmed | 774 |
| Disclosed Mar 23, 2022Mar 23, 20224y4 years ago | Mar 23, 20224y4 years ago | Not stated | Tech | Confirmed | 5,083 |
| Disclosed May 24, 2017May 24, 20179y9 years ago | May 24, 20179y9 years ago | Not stated | Tech | Confirmed | 940 |
| Disclosed May 21, 2015May 21, 201511y11 years ago | May 21, 201511y11 years ago | Not stated | Tech | Confirmed | 9 |
History of this record
- 2026-09-25 · data_types: ["names"] to ["names","passwords"] · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · data_types: [] to ["names"] · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · source: empty to https://www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/consumer-protection-division/id-theft-prevention/files/DB-Year-to-date-Report-2016.pdf · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · records: 442 to 22442 · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · records_basis: empty to organization · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · records: empty to 442 · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · occurred: empty to 2016-03-25 · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · attack: unknown to hacking · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · discovered: empty to 2016-03-17 · backfill source
- 2026-09-25 · added · backfill source
First seen 2026-09-25 (California AG), confirmed by California AG. Record counts are as reported. Not legal advice.
Everything about Charles Schwab